Imagine you are visiting an EU country or even at home and you need to contact the Gardaí (Police), an Ambulance, the Fire Service, or the Coastguard.

Would you know which emergency number to call?

Ask a few friends, family members or work colleagues the same question it is quite possible they may not know which number to call.

The common European emergency number 112 is available in the following European countries: All EU Member-States, Albania, Georgia, Moldova, Iceland, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom.

Please note that the EU Member States also include the territories listed below:

France: Guyane, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Réunion
Spain: Canary Islands
Portugal: Azores and Madeira

When travelling to other countries 112 as an Emergency number may not work, you should familiarise yourself with the local Emergency numbers before travelling. E.g.

United States – 911
Australia – 000
New Zealand – 111